关于国立公园

探索日本国立公园网络。

为保护自然环境,许多国立公园都不对外开放。不过此处例外。上高地是一个令人惊叹的公园系统组成部分,能够为您提供绝佳的户外体验。

中部山岳国立公园

中部山岳国立公园坐落于飞驒山脉(也被称为北阿尔卑斯)的中心地带,这座日本最高的山脉在日本本岛中央若隐若现,从北到南连绵延伸,成为了公园壮美的背景。
北部横亘着两列山脉,而在南部则可以看到三列山脉。

立山坐落于公园北部,以冬季壮观的大雪而闻名于世。 流淌在立山和后立山之间的黑部川,因其两边的强烈侵蚀,形成了日本最长、最深的峡谷之一,拥有险峻的悬崖峭壁。从立山到药师岳(2,926米)之间的地区深藏着许多景点,其中包括两个熔岩高原:五色原与云之平。

这里有一列高耸的山脉向南延伸,直至这列山脉的最高峰——奥穗高岳(3,190米),接着可以看到一列较低的山脉绵延至一座活火山——烧岳(2,455米)。 梓川流经上高地盆地,呈现出一派壮美的河谷风光。上高地由岩质山脉穗高岳、河畔森林及清澈溪流组成,拥有美丽富饶的自然景观。

其含蓄之美堪称是日本自然风光的绝佳体现。这个神圣的高地深受众人的喜爱。 覆盖公园南端的乘鞍岳,是一处由六座火山组成的火山群。 向东延伸的高原被称作乘鞍高原,是一个以农业与休闲娱乐而闻名的地区。

历史

随着人们对国立公园与保护自然环境的重视程度日益升高,中部山岳国立公园于1934年成立。这片区域被视为“美景之地”,并获得了“特别天然纪念物”的殊荣。这里的动物、植物及矿产资源等独特自然环境因拥有学术与美学价值而受到法律保护。随着时间的推移,公园内部及周围的许多地点也都得到了保护,例如白骨温泉于1952年被列为特别天然纪念物。

如今,日本的国立公园系统在环境省的监督之下,正在为保护国家宝贵的自然资产而不懈努力。

地理

中部山岳与北阿尔卑斯

这座山脉的正式名称是飞驒山脉,但由于目前被日本人称为北日本阿尔卑斯(或北阿尔卑斯),有时会造成混乱。 19世纪中叶,一名受雇于明治政府的英国勘测员威廉・高兰首次明确将“日本阿尔卑斯”这个名字用于称呼飞驒山脉。在此之后,这个名称渐渐得到普及,也开始被用于木曾山脉与赤石山脉,分别被称为中央日本阿尔卑斯与南日本阿尔卑斯。为方便起见,我们在此将飞驒山脉称作北阿尔卑斯或北日本阿尔卑斯。

中部山岳国立公园的地形大大受到北阿尔卑斯的影响,因此公园的边界大致对应北阿尔卑斯的山势。公园的最南端是乘鞍岳,最北端是立山与剑岳。走在北阿尔卑斯的山脊时,您将发现经常会跨越不同县的边界,非常有趣。这是因为山脉在很早以前就形成了地区之间的自然边界。因此,整个公园横跨长野县、富山县、岐阜县,以及朝日岳毗邻的新泻县。

由于风景优美并且邻近公园内的其他景点,上高地被认为是中部山岳上的一颗明珠。除此之外,您也可以探访其他热门地区,例如枪岳及位于北日本阿尔卑斯深处的表银座健行路线。关于上高地的各种一日健行行程的详情,请参照本网站的徒步旅行页面(英语)。 据说,英国登山家沃尔特・韦斯顿在长达十五年的时间中常常游览上高地,也依然没有厌倦攀爬周围的山峰。由此可见,即使人们花费数年时间探索这片区域,也只能看到它的一小部分。中部山岳的其他景点还包括位于阿尔卑斯北端的圣山——立山,以及其旁边的剱岳。您最好在夏天尝试一次漫长的健行,甚至可以从这些山峰直接通往上高地。从上高地地区到乘鞍高原与白骨温泉的交通也非常便捷。关于这两个地方的详情,请参照其他看点页面(英语)。

由于靠近包括上高地在内的主要景点,使得松本与高山成为重要的城市中心,让游客们有了一个可以慢慢计划此地区旅游行程的落脚点。

游览中部山岳国立公园内及周围的各处景点时,经常需要搭乘电车与巴士。而若要前往通向烧岳的中之汤步道等上高地之外的登山步道,则可能需要直接开车前往,或使用新穗高高空缆车与立山黑部阿尔卑斯山脉路线等新型公共交通工具。关于从上高地及其周边地区出发,或通往上高地及其周边地区的各类交通工具的详情,请参照这里.

关于日本的国立公园

一般来说,国立公园是指一片依据法律授权、管辖及保护的广阔区域。世界自然保护联盟(IUCN)将国立公园视为“保护区”,并确定这些区域的主要特征,例如“制定法律保护”以及防止自然资源开采。以前的规定还要求在符合某些条件的情形下,才允许游客进入公园。这一点非常重要,请继续阅读下去。

以历史观点来看,国立公园在国家认同感以及联系文化与自然的两方面都扮演重要角色。举个例子,让我们来看看成立于1872年的世界第一座正式国立公园——黄石国家公园。黄石国家公园与约塞米蒂国家公园等地方立即得到认定,并唤起了美国自然爱好者的强烈共鸣。

在日本,国立公园被指定为重要自然环境保护地区,并依据各项规定尽可能维持并保护它们。这些规定也包括了每个地方的各种不同问题,通常要求保护野生动植物,并禁止乱丢垃圾及其他破坏环境的行为。 1957年出台的《自然公园法》取代1931年出台的《国立公园法》,为这些地区的保护工作奠定了基础,而现代日本对自然保护区的严格管理也由此开始。

Photos of Chubu Sangaku National Park

链接(英语)

点此了解中部山岳国立公园的更多详情。

点此了解自然保护工作的更多详情。

点此了解中部山岳国立公园的更多特色。

About the National Park

Explore the Network of National Parks in Japan.

As a way of preserving nature, many national parks are kept out of reach. Not here. Kamikochi is part of an amazing park system offering great access to the great outdoors.

The Chubu Sangaku National Park

Chubu Sangaku National Park is located in the center of the Hida Mountain Range (also called the Japanese Alps), is the highest mountain range in Japan looming over the central of the main island. The Hida Mountain Range (Japanese Alps), makes the backdrop of the park and stretches from the north to south. The mountains lie in two rows in the northern part and in three rows in the southern part.

Mt. Tateyama is located in the northern part of the park and is know for heavy snowfall in the winter. The Kurobe-gawa River which flows between the Tateyama and the Ushirotate-yama Mountains creates one of the longest and deepest gorges in Japan with cliffs created by intensive erosion on both sides. The area from Mt. Tateyama to Mt. Yakushi-dake (2,926 m) holds many places of interest including two lava plateaus, Goshikigahara and Kumonotaira.

A range of high mountains stretching to the south leads to Mt. Okuhotaka-dake (3,190 m), the highest peak of the mountain chain, and then a line of lower mountains extend to Mt. Yakedake (2,455 m), an active volcano. The Azusagawa river flows through the Kamikochi basin and presents beautiful scenery of the valley. Kamikochi has rich natural beauty composed of the rocky mountains of Hotakadake, riverside forests and clear streams.

The subtle beauty is the finest example of Japanese natural scenery, this “sacred highland” is loved by many. Mt. Norikura capping the southern end of the park is a group of six volcanoes. A plateau extends to the east creating an area called Norikura Kogen which is known for agriculture and recreation.

History

Amid growing interest in national parks and nature preservation, the Chubu Sangaku National Park was established December 4th, 1934. The area was deemed a “Place of Scenic Beauty”, with a bounty of “Special Natural Monuments”, or features of the natural environment like animals, plants, and mineral deposits protected by law for their academic and aesthetic value. Over time, various locations in and around the park have also gained special status, such as Shirahone Onsen which was named a Special National Monument in 1955.

Today, Japan’s National Park system is overseen by the Ministry of the Environment that makes rigorous efforts to preserve the country’s precious natural assets.

Geography

Chubu Sangaku and the Northern Japanese Alps

The mountain range known today as the Northern Japanese Alps, or “Kita Alps” in Japanese, is more correctly called the Hida Mountain Range. This is where things get a bit confusing. The term “Japanese Alps” was first applied specifically to the Hida Mountains in the mid-19th century  by William Gowland, an English surveyor then in the employ of the Meiji government. Over time, the term gained popularity and also came to be used for the Kiso and Akaishi Mountain Ranges, which became known as the Central and Southern Japanese Alps, respectively. For the sake of simplicity, we will refer to the Hida Mountain Range as the Northern Alps or Northern Japanese Alps on this page.

The geography of the Chubu Sangaku National Park is largely determined by that of the Northern Alps to which park boundaries broadly correspond. At the southernmost reach of the park is Mt. Norikura and at the northernmost reach Mt. Tateyama and Mt. Tsurugidake. One thing you will notice while hiking ridges in the Northern Alps is that you will often be straddling a prefectural border, the reason being that mountains formed natural boundaries between domains in the past. So the park includes chunks of Nagano, Toyama, and Gifu Prefectures as well as bordering Niigata at Mt. Asahidake.

Kamikochi is rightly considered one of the Jewels in the crown of Chubu Sangaku owing to its scenic beauty and proximity to other highlights within the park. In addition to the appeal of Kamikochi proper you can also access popular locations such as Mt. Yari and the Omote Ginza hiking route located deep inside the Northern Japanese Alps. The wide variety of hiking options available as day trips from Kamikochi is discussed in our trekking section. For perspective, consider the fact that Walter Weston visited Kamikochi regularly over the course of fifteen years and never tired of climbing the surrounding peaks. One could spend years exploring the area and only see a fraction of it. Other Chubu Sangaku highlights include the holy mountain of Tateyama at the northern extreme of the Alps and its imposing neighbor, Mt. Tsurugidake. A long hike, best attempted in summer, even links these peaks with Kamikochi. Visitors vacationing in the Kamikochi area also have easy access to Norikura Highlands and Shirahone Hot Springs, both discussed in our “Other Attractions” section.

Proximity to key locations in the park including Kamikochi is also what makes Matsumoto and Takayama important urban hubs for visitors planning tours of the area.

Getting from place to place in and around the Chubu Sangaku National Park will often involve a combination of trains and buses. Some trailheads outside Kamikochi may be reached directly by car, such as the Nakanoyu trail to Mt. Yakedake. Others, like the Shinhotaka Ropeway and the Tateyama Kurobe Alpine Route, use other, more exotic forms of public transportation. Transportation to and from Kamikochi and the surrounding areas is covered extensively here.

About National Parks in Japan

Broadly speaking, a national park is a large area that is mandated, regulated, and protected by federal law. The International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) considers national parks as “protected areas” and identifies certain key features of these areas, including “statutory legal protection” and the prevention of exploitation of natural resources. Earlier stipulations also included visitors being allowed to enter the park on the condition of following certain rules. This point is crucial to our discussion, so please read on.

Historically, national parks have played key roles in national identity and in creating a sense of connection between culture and nature. For an example of this, look no further than the world’s first official national park, Yellowstone, which was founded in 1872. Places like Yellowstone and Yosemite command instant recognition and evoke powerful feelings for nature lovers in the United States.
In Japan, national parks (or kokuritsu koen) are areas that are designated as significant to Japan’s natural environment and subject to regulations intended to preserve and protect them to the greatest extent possible. These regulations encompass a wide variety of concerns that vary from place to place. Typically, the preservation of wildlife and plant life as well as the avoidance of litter and other acts that harm the environment are emphasized. The law that laid the groundwork for such areas was the “Natural Park Law” of 1957, which replaced the earlier “National Park Law” of 1931 and began the serious business of managing nature preserves in modern Japan.

Photos of Chubu Sangaku National Park

Journey Journals on Kamikochi

The Journals are written by people who love Kamikochi and want to share their experiences with you.

Learn about the Authors

Key Links

Learn more about Chubu Sangaku National Park here

Learn more about nature preservation efforts here

Learn more about Chubu Sangaku National Park’s characteristics here