大自然与野生动物

地质

在上高地历史的大部分时间内,只有樵夫才会来到这里。在明治时代期间,曾有一个来自山麓村庄“岛岛”的人,名叫上条百次朗,他在夏天探索出德乡山道,并最终成为上高地牧场的第一位牧场主。他的牧场与其所处的德泽地区同名,叫做德泽牧场,而且他在小梨平与明神地区也拥有牧场。时至今日,由于白雪覆盖下的壮丽山景,景区变得更加迷人,这些名字也逐渐为游客所熟知。

1915年6月,烧岳火山喷发,随后的一处火山塌方阻断了梓川的水流,从而形成了一个水池,名曰“大正池”。过去,用于建造上高地帝国饭店的建筑材料就是经由大正池船运而来的。

1927年在上高地历史当中是至关重要的一年,当年发生了三件大事。首先是日本杰出的小说家芥川龙之介在同年3月出版的小说《河童》中,介绍了上高地与河童桥。7月,上高地与日本其他七处名胜一起入选了日本八景。8月,秩父宫雍仁亲王从上高地出发,登上了奥穗高岳与枪岳。经过这三件大事以后,上高地游客人数翻了一倍。

1934年,上高地被纳入中部山岳国立公园,成为公园的一部分。依照新规定,牧场被关闭,旅游大巴载着大批游客前往河童桥。年复一年,开着私家车前来的游客人数日益增多,最终导致一项新的交通规定于1975年出台。目前的规定禁止游客开私家车进入上高地境内。

野生动物

除了可以放眼眺望的壮丽山景之外,上高地也为游客准备了独一无二的野生动物世界。由于动物种类实在太多,不方便在此一一罗列,我们就挑一些具有代表性的例子吧。请注意,如同保护自然环境一样,我们也应该小心对待上高地的野生动物,以避免破坏它们的生活环境。


一段猴子在长野北部地狱谷内泡温泉的视频,让日本猕猴成为了全世界的网红。成年猕猴虽然会配合拍照,但也比较善变,喜欢恶作剧,如果您靠近它,还是有潜在的危险。话虽如此,猕猴爬树或迈步四处寻找免费午餐的场景不仅是在上高地非常受欢迎的看点,同时也是周围环境的一个重要组成部分,它时刻提醒着,我们是在别人家做客。对于许多游客来说,哪怕能微微瞥见树丛中的猕猴,也是户外远足的一次小确幸。但需要说明的是,它们既不是憨态可掬的宠物,也不是行走的摄影模特,所以请大家尊重它们。

雷鸟

在世界上的其他地方,雷鸟是用来供人打猎消遣的猎鸟,但在日本,它是受到尊重与保护的动物,它有一个威风凛凛的名字——“雷鸟”。虽然雷鸟并不是日本阿尔卑斯地区唯一的鸟类,但凭借其独特的魅力与性格,成为了这片森林的统治者。首先,在您还远远没有看到它们的时候,雷鸟低沉嘶哑的独特叫声总能让您提前意识到它们的存在。而且它们胆子很大,人来了也无动于衷,有时即便给它拍照,仍是岿然不动(但不要靠得太近!)。雷鸟有一个非常有趣的习惯,它们总是喜欢成双成对地在森林里翱翔,您可以通过翅膀颜色来分辨它们。

日本鬣羚

日本鬣羚是一种牛科动物,但其外表长得有点像山羊,并且,根据它们在滑雪场多木地带留下的踪迹判断,它们也完全具备与山羊同样稳健的步态。日本鬣羚用日语叫做Kamoshika,其中“shika”是“鹿”的意思,就是说他们与鹿类似,但是在动物学纲领中,它们跟鹿其实并无关系。日本鬣羚在不断发展的日本生态史中也占据了特殊的位置,虽然曾一度被捕猎至濒临灭绝,但所幸最后被列为保护动物。虽说在野外遇到一头日本鬣羚的概率可能较低,但高山仍是您开启探索之旅的不二之选。日本鬣羚皮毛蓬松、面容温和,让人不得不爱,对于每一位阿尔卑斯旅行者来说,它都是最重要、最值得的看点。

跳转至有关“Nature & Wildlife”的博客(英语)

Nature & Wildlife

GEOLOGY

For most of Kamikochi’s history, only woodsmen could access the area. During the Meiji Period, a man named Hyakujiro Kamijo from the foothill village Shimashima had explored the Tokugo Pass in the summer time and eventually became the first cattle rancher in the pastures of Kamikochi. His ranch was called as Tokusawa Pasture in the district of the same name, and he had other pastures in Konashidaira and Myojin district. Today, these names are familiar to visitors to the park as scenic areas made more appealing by their spectacular views of snow-covered mountains.

After the eruption of Mt. Yakedake in June of 1915, a volcanic mudslide dammed the flow of Azusa River, and created a pond called Taisho Pond. Materials used to construct the Kamikochi Imperial Hotel were transported by boat across this pond. (Read more about Mt. Yakedake here)

1927 was a landmark year in Kamikochi’s history with three major developments. Ryunosuke Akutagawa, a prominent novelist in Japan, had introduced Kamikochi and Kappa Bridge in his novel “Kappa” published in March. In July, Kamikochi was selected as one of the most scenic spots in Japan along with seven other resorts. And in August, His Imperial Highness Prince Chichibunomiya had climbed Mt. Oku-Hotakadake and Mt. Yari from Kamikochi. After the events of this year, the number of tourists in Kamikochi doubled.

In 1934, Kamikochi was designated part of the Chubu Sangaku National Park. The pastures had to be closed in accordance with the new regulations, and tourist buses carried many visitors to Kappa Bridge. Year after year, the numbers of tourists with their own cars had gradually increased, and finally a new traffic regulation was introduced in 1975. According to the present restrictions, tourists are prohibited from entering Kamikochi in their own cars.

WILDLIFE

As well as sweeping mountain vistas, Kamikochi also offers its own distinctive menagerie of mountain wildlife. Since the species of animal life are too numerous to list here, let’s consider some of the more representative examples. Remember: the same common sense about leaving the natural environment undisturbed applies as much if not more the birds and beasts of Kamikochi.

Kamoshika

The Japanese serow is a bovid animal, somewhat similar in appearance to a mountain goat and, judging by the tracks they leave in the wooded sections of ski resorts, every bit as sure-footed. The “shika” in the animal’s Japanese name, suggests similarity to deer, though in zoological terms they are not related. The kamoshika also has a special place in the ongoing narrative of Japan’s ecology as it was once hunted to the brink of extinction, before luckily becoming a protected species as well as an iconic species of Japan and symbol of the Japanese Alps. While your chances of seeing one in the wild may be a bit slim, the mountains are definitely where you should start looking. Beloved for their shaggy manes of fur and placid faces, the kamoshika are a prized sighting for any alpine traveler.

Raicho

While in other parts of the world, the rock ptarmigan is hunted as a game bird, in Japan it is a revered and protected species known by the imposing name of “raicho” (or “thunder bird”). While not the only bird native to the Japanese Alps, the raicho definitely rules the roost, due to its charm and unique character. To begin with, the peculiar hoarse croak of the raicho’s call will often alert you to their presence long before you see them. They are also far from timid, unphased by human presence and sometimes remaining still while you take a picture (don’t get too close!). If you’re lucky, you might also see them in pairs. Raicho couples have the adorable habit of taking strolls with their mates, distinguishable by their differently colored plumage.
*Raicho can be spotted in Kamikochi but are quite rare, if you do catch a glimpse of one consider yourself very lucky.

Japanese Monkeys

The Japanese Macaque (simply called “nihonzaru” or “Japan monkey” in Japanese), has become famous throughout the world for footage of furry monkeys bathing in the hot springs of Jigokudani in the north of Nagano. The adults are a photogenic, but mercurial lot, prone to mischief and potentially dangerous if approached. That said, the sight of them climbing trees and loping around in search of a free lunch is a welcome site at Kamikochi and a big part of the ambiance that reminds us that we’re visiting someone else’s home. For many, just spotting a few in the trees is a minor highlight of an outdoor excursion. That said, they are not cuddly pets or roaming photo opportunities, so please treat them with respect.

And a Cast of Thousands…

In addition to three of the most famous examples mentioned above, Kamikochi is home to countless other species of birds, mammals, fish, and insects. Preserving the biodiversity of the area is a key concern for the hard working men and women who maintain Chubu Sangaku National Park. Whether you’re lucky enough to spot a Mandarin duck or one of the park’s elusive badgers, we ask you to respect these tenants of the Northern Alps and admire them from a distance. It’s all part of an ecologically aware and responsible attitude to visiting this and other protected areas.